Clarington Optometric Centre has been caring for the community since 1950. The practice was started by Dr. Keith Billett. A local man that came home from his service in WWII as a RCAF pilot to study optometry. Once he was done his studies, he brought his vision and eyewear skills back to care for the people of his hometown. It wasn’t until 1952 that a 4-year doctorate of optometry education was created in Ontario with the first graduating class in 1956. Despite already in practice, Dr. Billett went back for even further education and graduated with his doctorate in 1959 with only 25 others that year. He continued to serve his community and patients for many years. Dr. Karen McPherson then purchased the practice from him when he retired. She renovated a century home to create our current space, where we have been located for 28 years.
Dr. Stoter is very excited to be part of the rich history of eyecare in this community. The consistency and depth of the practice is unrivaled. She has reviewed charts that still have records in them from the 1960’s! She is looking forward to continuing with excellent eye care and upholding the values that the practice was built on.